F-22 Raptor wins Collier Trophy

Lockheed Martin and the F-22 Raptor team have won the 2006 Robert J. Collier Trophy from the National Aeronautic Association.

Created in 1911, the trophy is considered to be one of the most prestigious aviation awards. It is granted each year “for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America during the preceding year.” Past winners include Orville Wright, Howard Hughes, Scott Crossfield and Chuck Yeager.

The Raptor team won “for designing, testing and operating” the F-22. The nomination specifically noted the aircraft’s performance in the 2006 Northern Edge military exercise. Team members include Lockheed Martin, Boeing, Pratt & Whitney, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, BAE Systems and the U.S. Air Force.

“This amazing aircraft has been described as the most efficient and effective fighter in history,” according to NAA officials.

For more information:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *