K-State Oshkosh scholarship winners named

Kansas State University Aviation has picked seven winners from a daily scholarship drawing conducted at AirVenture 2010.

“K-State’s aviation program offers the most affordable degrees in the country,” said Kurt Barnhart, aviation department head. “This $2,000 scholarship will make a K-State education even more affordable for these seven recipients.”

Recipients had to meet the following criteria to be eligible for the scholarship: Must be a junior or senior in high school during the 2010/2011 academic year, or must be a transfer student or start earning a bachelor’s degree at K-State’s Salina campus within the next two years.

The winners, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Paul Cwian, 16, Dakota, Ill.
  • Troy DiGiovanni, 19, Belmont, Mass.
  • Nathan Fischer, 17, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Ryan Harris, 16, Muscle Shoals, Ala.
  • Trevor Henson, 17, Dunlap, Ill.
  • Matthew McDavid, 18, Southlake, Texas
  • Amanda Sipes, 18, Wichita, Kan.

Adjacent to a 12,000-foot runway, K-State Salina has a fleet of more than 40 aircraft and more Master Certified Flight Instructors than any other college or university in the country, according to university officials. K-State Salina offers degrees in aircraft maintenance, professional pilot, technology management and engineering technology. Certificate programs are available in air traffic control, airframe and powerplant, airport management, avionics maintenance technology and unmanned aerial systems. For more information: Salina.K-State.edu/aviation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *