Final agenda revealed for NTSB airshow hearing

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) has announced the final agenda for its Air Race and Airshow Safety Hearing, which takes place Jan. 10.

The start time for the hearing, which is being held at the NTSB Conference Center and Board Room in Washington, DC, has been changed to 9 a.m. (EST).

Fifteen witnesses will provide the board and the public insight into current safety regulations, the protocols and practices utilized for planning, and the specifics of airshow and air race operations. Following presentations by each panel, the witnesses will be questioned by the NTSB’s five-member board.

The agenda for the one-day hearing:

  • 9 a.m. Opening Statement: NTSB Chairman Deborah A.P. Hersman
  • 9:15 a.m. Panel One: Regulations and Oversight: John McGraw, FAA’s Deputy Director, Flight Standards Service; Michael Umstead, National Aviation Events Specialist, Flight Standards Service; John Cudahy, President, International Council of Air Shows; Wayne Boggs, ICAS member; Judy Willey, Chairman, ICAS Board of Directors.
  • 10:40 a.m. Panel Two: Aviation Event Organizations: Mike Houghton, President/CEO, Reno Air Race Association; Michael Major, RARA Board Member and pilot; Rod Hightower, President/CEO, Experimental Aircraft Association; Sean Elliott, EAA Vice President for Government Affairs; George Cline, President, Air Boss Inc.
  • 1 p.m. Panel Three: Aviation Event Operations: Frank Sebastian, Air Show Coordinator and Chair, Seafair Air Show; Edwin Dunham, Air Show Director, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar Air Show; Robert Stenevik, Vice President of Safety, Operations, and Maintenance, Commemorative Air Force; Jim DiMatteo, Former Race Director for San Diego and New York Events, Red Bull Air Races; Sean Tucker, Performer.

The NTSB Conference Center and Board Room is located at 429 L’Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC. A link to a live webcast will be available on the NTSB’s homepage on the day of the hearing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *