Collier Trophy nominees named

The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) announced that former Collier Trophy recipients Dick Rutan, Joe Lombardo, Bobby Sturgel, and Jeff Pino will be among the aviation leaders who will participate in the Selection Committee for the 2011 Robert J. Collier Trophy. Nominees for this year’s trophy are: Taurus G-4 Electric-Powered Aircraft, Boeing 787 Dreamliner, C-5M Super Galaxy, and the Gamera Human-Powered Helicopter.

The Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for over 100 years. Awarded annually “….for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history, according to NAA officials.

Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs that have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2010 Collier was awarded to the Sikorsky X2 Technology Demonstrator Team.

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of 31 leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. The members are:

  • Dick Rutan, Collier Recipient – 1986
  • Joe Lombardo, Gulfstream – Collier Recipient, 2003
  • Bobby Sturgell, Rockwell Collins – Collier Recipient/ADSB, 2008
  • Jeff Pino, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation – Collier Recipient, 2010
  • Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group
  • Monte Belger, Aero Club of Washington
  • Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Bob Blouin, Hawker Beechcraft
  • Ed Bolen, National Business Aviation Association
  • Pete Bunce, General Aviation Manufacturers Association
  • Steve Callaghan, National Aviation Club Committee of NAA
  • Steve Champness, Aero Club of Atlanta
  • David Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems
  • Brian Glackin, Cobham
  • Mathew Greene, Safe Flight Instrument
  • Leo Knaapen, Bombardier
  • John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
  • Dave Manke, United Technologies
  • Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support/BBA Aviation
  • Stan O’Connor, GE Aviation
  • Steve Plummer, Rolls Royce, North America
  • Skip Ringo, DRS
  • Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin
  • Ed Scott, United States Parachute Association
  • Bob Stangarone, Embraer
  • Al Tyler, Soaring Society of America
  • Mark Van Tine, Jeppesen
  • Tony Velocci, Aviation Week and Space Technology
  • Bob Vilhaeur, Boeing
  • Diane White, Cessna Aircraft Company
  • Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the director of the process and is a non-voting member of the committee.

“We are very proud of the nominations we received for the 2011 Collier Trophy, said Boyne. “Each of them – in their own way – mark significant progress in the advancement of aviation and aerospace on the planet, and we certainly welcome to the Collier selection process.”

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 12, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 13, at the NAA Spring Awards Ceremony and Luncheon. The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place May 10, at the 2012 Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia.

For more information:



People who read this article also read articles on airparks, airshow, airshows, avgas, aviation fuel, aviation news, aircraft owner, avionics, buy a plane, FAA, fly-in, flying, general aviation, learn to fly, pilots, Light-Sport Aircraft, LSA, and Sport Pilot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *