Colorado Aviation Business Association awards scholarships

DENVER — The Colorado Aviation Business Association (CABA) has revealed this year’s scholarship winners. The scholarships, totaling $6,000, were awarded at the 2nd Annual Aviation Safety Symposium, an event co-hosted by Metropolitan State University of Denver’s Department of Aviation and Aerospace Science.

The 2012 recipients are: Joseph Muwala, Durga Niroula, and Ryan O’Rear.

Muwala is a student at Emily Griffith Technical College in the Aircraft Maintenance Program and will continue in a career as an aircraft maintenance professional.

Niroula is currently in the 11th grade at Aurora West College Preparatory Academy and plans to pursue a career as an airline pilot.

O’Rear is a student in the Department of Aviation & Aerospace Science at Metropolitan State University of Denver, and plans to use his award for flight training.

Established in 2011, the CABA Scholarships are awarded to select students in an effort to help support their pursuit of a career in aviation. All aviation-related career tracks are considered eligible including, but not limited to: pilot, aircraft maintenance, airport operations, and management. Applicants are evaluated by CABA’s Education and Outreach Committee, and recipients are selected based on their demonstrated dedication to an aviation-related career, scholastic transcripts, financial need, and recommendations from professional and/or faculty mentors.

For more information on the scholarships and to apply, visit

Founded in 1994, the mission of the Colorado Aviation Business Association (CABA) is to foster and promote aviation and related business throughout Colorado; to address and respond to issues impacting Colorado airports, including safety and operational effectiveness; to educate the general public about all aviation activities in the state, and to preserve the state’s airport related businesses as valuable economic assets to the community at large.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *