Call for entries for Crossfield Teacher of the Year award

The National Aviation Hall of Fame is seeking entries for the 24th annual A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year Award, which includes a $1,500 cash stipend.

Founded by famed research test pilot Scott Crossfield in 1986, the award is a juried competition open to current classroom teachers in grades K through 12. Nominations will be examined by a review committee of aerospace industry and education professionals for documentation of a teacher’s effectiveness, creativity and ability to maintain high standards for their students and themselves with aerospace being the core subject matter or their curricula.

The Crossfield Award winner will receive a $1,500 cash stipend at the NAHF President’s Dinner set for July 16. The winning teacher and a guest will also receive an all-expense paid trip to Dayton and be a guest at the Hall of Fame’s 49th Annual Enshrinement Ceremony on July 17.

The 2009 Crossfield Award Winner was Christy Garvin of Powder Springs, Georgia. Garvin holds a degree in elementary education and psychology and a Master’s of Science Education. She is an emergency medical technician; holds a private pilot license and instrument rating; and is currently working on her commercial license. Garvin has written an aerospace curriculum that is used across her county school system and designed and taught aviation and space camps for Georgia Tech.

Her elementary students build kites, hot air balloons, model airplanes, rockets, and working hovercraft. They also design and build a 35-foot long inflatable space shuttle, create lunar plant growth chambers, and design and build a model of a future Mars base.

Scott Crossfield (1921-2006) was inducted into the NAHF in 1983 in recognition of his contributions as a naval aviator, aerospace engineer and test pilot. He was the first man to successfully fly at speeds above Mach 2 and Mach 3; the first man to fly the X-15; and contributed to the safety of manned spaceflight, among many other achievements.

The deadline for nominations is May 1.

For more information: or 888-383-1903, ext. 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *