Can’t make it to AOPA Aviation Summit?

If you can’t make it to Long Beach, Calif., for the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association Aviation Summit, which kicks off Thursday, you can catch some of the programming online with AOPA Live — live, streaming interviews with some of the most interesting people in general aviation.

AOPA will offer live programming Thursday, Nov. 11, through Saturday, Nov. 13, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Pacific Standard Time (1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Standard Time), with tape playback from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. PST (5 p.m. to 9 p.m. EST) each day. Each day’s keynote will also stream live at 9 a.m. PST (Noon EST).

AOPA President and CEO Craig Fuller, editors of AOPA Pilot and Flight Training magazines, and other AOPA staff members will speak with aviation notables such as: FAA Deputy Administrator Michael Huerta and Acting Associate Administrator for Airports Catherine Lang; Cessna President, Chairman, and CEO Jack Pelton; and Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) Chairman of the Board Tom Poberezny and EAA President Rod Hightower.

Mike Melvill, the pilot and engineer who first flew Burt Rutan’s SpaceShipOne into space, will make an appearance, as will air show aerobatic legends Sean D. Tucker and Patty Wagstaff.

Fuller will speak with National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) president Ed Bolen about the two associations’ joint Light Business Airplane Conference, and with Pete Bunce, president of the General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), about the future of avgas now that the federal Environmental Protection Agency appears to be moving towards reducing or removing the lead additive from avgas.

AOPA Live viewers will be the first to know who has won the 2010 Fun To Fly Sweepstakes grand prize, a Remos GX light sport aircraft, when the winner is announced live during Friday’s Keynote Address. And they’ll get to see AOPA’s most prestigious awards, including the Joseph B. “Doc” Hartranft Award and Laurence P. Sharples Perpetual Award, presented during a special program on Saturday.

This year AOPA Live will offer viewers the real flavor of the AOPA Aviation Summit with live reports from the exhibit hall floor and Airportfest at Long Beach Airport, giving them the chance to hear from exhibitors and attendees alike.

“The AOPA Aviation Summit is such a vibrant event, we want to share the excitement with pilots from around the globe,” said Fuller. “AOPA Live gives us the opportunity to engage the entire aviation community in the important conversations taking place at Summit.”

The schedule of AOPA Live guests and events is available here. AOPA Live programming is available at AOPALive.org

Comments

  1. says

    It’s going to be a great summit! Today AOPA held a meeting about how to increase the number of people who complete flight training. It’s great to see so much energy dedicated to aviation in one place!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *