Hall of Fame 50th anniversary celebration set

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) will hold the 50th Anniversary of the National Aviation Hall of Fame Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony, in Dayton, Ohio, on Saturday Oct. 6. The decision was made after significant deliberations and commitments from Dayton business leaders to ensure the event is a financial success during these difficult economic times.

It is anticipated that an audience of 1.000 or more aerospace industry executives, armed forces leadership, government representatives, corporate sponsors, aviation scholars and enthusiasts from across the United States will attend this event known throughout the aviation industry as “The Oscar Night of Aviation.” Tickets to the black-tie event are available by advance reservation from the Congressionally-chartered non-profit NAHF, with proceeds benefiting its public Learning and Research Center in Dayton, Ohio, as well as youth education and outreach programs.

The Inductee Class of 2012 is:

Geraldyn “Jerrie” Cobb, record-setting pilot who learned to fly at age 12, was the first woman to pass all the Mercury astronaut selection tests. Later nominated for the Nobel Prize for pioneering humanitarian flights in South America.

Keith Ferris, known world-wide as the “Dean of American Aviation Art,” founded the American Society of Aviation Artists. Also an expert and inventor of aircraft paint systems for military camouflage and high visibility purposes.

The late Lt. Gen. Elwood R. “Pete” Quesada, USAF, helped develop and successfully demonstrate air-to-air refueling in 1929, served as first commander of Tactical Air Command, and later helped establish and helmed the FAA.

The late Richard T. Whitcomb, Acclaimed as the most influential aeronautical researcher of his time, his concepts include the revolutionary Area Rule, Supercritical Airfoil, and winglets that enable aircraft to fly faster, farther and with less fuel.

Upon their induction next month, the names of Cobb, Ferris, Quesada and Whitcomb will join those of the 211 legends of aviation previously honored by the National Aviation Hall of Fame, including the very first two Enshrinees, Orville and Wilbur Wright.

For more information: NationalAviation.org



People who read this article also read articles on airparks, airshow, airshows, avgas, aviation fuel, aviation news, aircraft owner, avionics, buy a plane, FAA, fly-in, flying, general aviation, learn to fly, pilots, Light-Sport Aircraft, LSA, and Sport Pilot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *