AEA names member of the year

Kent McIntyre of Bevan-Rabell Inc. in Wichita is the 2013 Member of the Year for the Aircraft Electronics Association; while top honors in the Associate Member of the Year Award category went to Sandia Aerospace of Albuquerque, N.M., during ceremonies at the AEA’s annual Awards Luncheon on March 27.

Each year during the AEA International Convention & Trade Show, two awards are presented at the AEA Awards Luncheon: the AEA Member of the Year, which honors an individual from an AEA regular member company; and the AEA Associate Member of the Year, which honors a company that is an AEA associate member.

The winners of each award are voted on by their peers for their service and participation in the industry and in the association.

kent2013 AEA Member of the Year: Kent McIntyre of Bevan-Rabell Inc. was first introduced to the world of aviation by flying with his uncle, a World War II pilot, in the 1970s. He began taking flight lessons in the summer of 1976, and it wasn’t long until he was working and pumping gas at the airport in Wellington, Kan.

McIntyre attended Southwestern College in Winfield, Kan., and later earned a bachelor’s degree in business at Newman University in Wichita, Kan., in 1983.

He worked for Mike Kelley Aircraft, now Air Plains Services, for several years. In 1989, he began working for Bevan-Rabell as the shop manager with virtually no avionics experience except flying. He served as an avionics and sales manager until 2001, and he then bought the business from Bob Patterson.

An AEA member since September 1986, Bevan-Rabell is an FAA-certified repair station located at the Wichita Mid-Continent Airport.

McIntyre has been actively involved with the AEA for a number of years, previously serving as a member of the AEA board of directors.

The nominees for the 2013 AEA Member of the Year were: Stewart Dimon of Texas GYRO; David Loso of Jet Aviation St. Louis; McIntyre; Dan Rice of Flightcraft; Mark Wilken of Elliott Aviation; and Greg York of Pippen-York Inc.

2013 AEA Associate Member of the Year: Sandia Aerospace was founded in 1997 by a group of avionics professionals to provide high-quality avionics products to general aviation, corporate aviation and regional airline markets. Sandia Aerospace’s product offerings include the STX 165 transponder with built-in encoder, the SAE 5-35 altitude encoder, the SAC 7-35 air-data computer, avionics cooling fans and MARC 70 interface modules. The company also provides product development, product design and product manufacturing for other aerospace companies.

An AEA member since 1998, Sandia Aerospace participates in the annual AEA International Convention and Trade Show and the various AEA Regional Meetings that take place around the world.

Sandia’s founder, Dennis Schmidt, has been an active participant in AEA events and activities for more than 30 years, when he was employed by King Radio, Foster AirData and Terra Avionics. Schmidt has also served as a member of the AEA board of directors.

The nominees for the 2013 AEA Associate Member of the Year were: Aero Express; Aeroflex; FreeFlight Systems; Rockwell Collins; Sandia Aerospace; and Universal Avionics Systems Corp.

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents more than 1,300 member companies, including government-certified international repair stations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of avionics and electronic systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of avionics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.

For more information:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *