Collier Trophy competitors revealed

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) has unveiled the names of the nine aviation and aerospace projects that will compete for the 2013 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

CollierTrophyFor 102 years the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement, NAA officials say. Awarded annually “…for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history.

Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs that have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2012 Collier was awarded to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for the Mars Curiosity Rover.

The nominees this year are:

  • The Human-Powered Helicopter Teams Atlas and Gamera
  • The NASA Deep Space Network
  • The NASA Lunar Laser Communications Demonstration (LLCD) Project Team
  • The Orbital Sciences Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) Program Team
  • The Pratt & Whitney PurePower Geared Turbofan Engine
  • The United States Navy P-8A Poseidon
  • The Voyager Project Team
  • The X-47B Unmanned Combat Air System Demonstration (UCAS-D) Team
  • The X-51A

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. Included on the committee are four former recipients of the Collier Trophy:

  • Admiral Richard Truly, USN (Ret) – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1981 and 1988
  • Peggy Gilligan – Collier Trophy Recipient (Commercial Aviation Safety Team), 2008 Dick Rutan – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1986
  • Larry James – Collier Trophy Recipient (Mars Curiosity Rover), 2012

The Selection Committee also includes:

  • Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group
  • Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Bob Blouin, Beechcraft
  • Ed Bolen, National Business Aviation Association
  • Charles Bures, Aero Club of New England
  • Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards and Events Committee
  • Brian Chase, Bell Helicopter
  • Dave Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems
  • Karen Gebhart, Helicopter Association International
  • Randy Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation
  • T.C. Jones, Northrop Grumman
  • Tim Keating, The Boeing Company
  • Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace
  • John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
  • Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney
  • Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support
  • Stan O’Connor, GE Aviation
  • Ken Panos, AeroJet Rocketdyne
  • Sam Parks, Balloon Federation of America
  • Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America
  • Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin
  • Bob Stangarone, Embraer
  • Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins
  • Mark Van Tine, Jeppesen
  • Tony Velocci, Forbes

Jonathan Gaffney, president and CEO of NAA, will serve as the director of the process and is a non-voting member of the committee.

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 17, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 18, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 8, at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia.

For more information: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *