NATF reveals scholarship recipients

The National Air Transportation Foundation (NATF) has announced the winners of its Dan L. Meisinger Sr. Memorial Learn to Fly Scholarship, Pioneers of Flight Scholarship, Richard L. Taylor Flight Training Scholarship and the NATA Business Scholarship.

NATF annually awards academic and flight training scholarships to assist outstanding candidates in the pursuit of careers in aviation service businesses.

Tyler Charles Wilson, a student at LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas, is the recipient of the Dan L. Meisinger Sr. Memorial Learn to Fly Scholarship. Tyler is currently pursuing a mission aviation degree, which will qualify him to fly and maintain airplanes once he graduates. Tyler has already been on mission trips to Haiti to build housing and utility systems and hopes to continue impacting lives of people all over the world.

Alovia Kelley Dudek, a student at the Portland Community College in Portland, Oregon, is the recipient of the Pioneers of Flight Scholarship. Alovia’s 10-year goal includes earning her Master CFI-Aerobic rating as well as conventional and amphibious ratings; remaining in the Civil Air Patrol in Alaska; and staying active in the aviation community.

Shane Allan Fisher, a student at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Michigan, is the recipient of the 2014 Richard L. Taylor Flight Training Scholarship. Shane is currently a member of the U.S. Navy Reserves and hopes to graduate as a commissioned officer to continue his military career by flying with the Navy Reserves or the Air National Guard.

Brian James Nissel, a student at the Pittsburgh Institute of Aeronautics at the Hagerstown, Maryland campus and an employee of Aero-Smith, Inc. in Martinsburg, West Virginia, is the recipient of the NATA Business Scholarship. Brian is a member of the AMT society and plans to work either at a regional airport repairing aircraft or at an aircraft manufacturing company, following in his grandfather’s footsteps.

“One of the most gratifying tasks that NATF performs annually is awarding scholarships to talented candidates, and this year was no exception. NATA congratulates these deserving individuals and applaud their enthusiasm in helping to inspire the next generation of aviators and aviation professionals,” said NATA Manager of Safety 1st Programs Elizabeth Nicholson.

For more information:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *