EAA’s Young Eagles to receive ‘Spirit of Flight’ award

Every year,  the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF)  presents the Milton Caniff “Spirit of Flight” Award to a group or organization in recognition for its exceptional contributions to the advancement of flight. Receiving the 2014 honor will be the Young Eagles Program of the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA).

Since its inception in 1992, Young Eagles has consistently proven itself a key driver of introducing young people ages 8 to17 to their first flight, for free, in the U.S. and nearly 100 other countries. A veritable air force of over 40,000 volunteer EAA member/pilots has enabled Young Eagles to provide more than 1.8 million young people with a structured and educational flying experience. Additionally, Young Eagles’ ancillary programs and scholarships further support young peoples’ interest in continuing their flight experience and exploring aviation career opportunities.

Representatives of the NAHF Board of Trustees will formally present the 2014 Milton Caniff “Spirit of Flight” Award at the Young Eagles Dinner held at EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2014 on Wednesday, July 30. Among those accepting the award will be the current Young Eagles Chairman, aerobatic pilot and air show performer Sean D. Tucker, a 2008 NAHF Enshrinee.

The NAHF “Spirit of Flight” Award was established in 1981 and renamed for famed American artist, aviation advocate, and NAHF supporter, Milton Caniff, soon after his passing in 1988. Previous recipients of the prestigious annual honor include the Doolittle Tokyo Raiders, Tuskegee Airmen, Women Airforce Service Pilots, NBAA (National Business Aviation Association), AOPA (Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association) and many others.

For more information: NationalAviation.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *