Nominations open for 2014 Air Show Hall of Fame

Air shows are one of the most popular outdoor events around the world, and each year, the Air Show Hall of Fame inducts one or more members of the air show community who have recently or historically made significant contributions to the world of air shows. Nominations may be submitted by any person or organization until July 1, 2014.

The Air Show Hall of Fame is currently home to nearly 50 air show greats including pilots, stunt performers, producers, announcers, designers, builders, and other innovators who have changed the face of air shows forever. Past inductees include Bob Hoover, Leo Loudenslager, Jim Franklin, Eddie Andreini, and Art Scholl.

“They say everyone is a hero to someone,” said Steve Oliver, HOF Chairman. “This is an opportunity to recognize those who have brought the air show industry forward and who have inspired us all.”

Any air show enthusiast, performer, or fan may submit a nomination using the nominating petition, available for download at

A selection panel designated by the Air Show Foundation Board of Directors will choose this year’s inductees shortly after the July 1 nomination deadline. The induction ceremony will be held during the annual ICAS convention in December in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The ICAS Foundation is an independent, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to preserving and promoting the history, and recognizing the advances of the air show industry. In addition to the Air Show Hall of Fame, the foundation’s programs include several aviation scholarships, and a Family Fund to help families when tragedy strikes within the air show community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *