The California Assembly passed legislation Aug. 31 that would impose a moratorium on costly new flight training regulations in the state, according to the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association.
Assembly Bill 1889 would delay the controversial flight school regulations from the California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009 until July 1, 2011, to allow time for the legislature and aviation industry to review the issue and consider alternatives, AOPA officials report. The Senate had already adopted the bill, which now goes to Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger.
The controversial flight school regulations mandate that anyone providing flight instruction, be it a Part 61 part-time flight instructor, a small FBO or a Part 141 operation, must pay an initial $5,000 fee, followed by a $1,000 annual fee, and 0.75% of yearly revenue to the state. Minimum operational standards, including that all instructors must have at least three years of education or experience in the field they teach or the a demonstration of equivalency, must be adhered to. (Read Meg Godlewski’s story on the bill here.)