Washington aircraft owners are advised to mark their calendars – aircraft registrations are coming due in January.
For those who file late, changes are on the horizon to restructure state aircraft registration penalties to create “a more efficient and user-friendly process for customers,” according to state aviation officials.
On July 1, a new law went into effect establishing a one-time, $100 late fee for aircraft registrations that are 60 days or more past due. This replaces the former penalty structure, which imposed escalating penalties of up to $400 for late registration payments.
Along with the change to penalties, the Washington State Department of Transportation has simplified its requirements for an aircraft registration exemption. Those applying for an exemption will no longer be required to submit hardcopy documentation along with their application. This change will allow aircraft owners to apply for exemptions online from the WSDOT Aviation website.
These changes apply to all non-exempt aircraft based in Washington for the 2017 registration year. Registrations are due every January and expire at the end of the calendar year.
Aircraft registration fees go directly to support WSDOT Aviation’s airport preservation, maintenance and improvement programs, and air search and rescue operations.